People Of Cameroon

BeingAfrican is a platform that strives to preserve African cultures, traditions, and languages. It is a meeting place where African cultures are explained within scope. 

In recent decades, the emergence of large African diaspora communities within Africa itself, Europe, America, and elsewhere has resulted in the loss of traditional knowledge of African cultures. At the same time, the westernization of African countries has posed the same at home. Our platform is an attempt to preserve many of our centuries-old customs and traditions.

At BeingAfrican we understand that preservation of culture and protocols is everyone’s responsibility (parents and children) but mainly it lies with the elders. 

  • Learn about you, your people, and why you should be proudly Cameroonian
  • Know who you married-cross cultural marriages
  • Understand the people of the country you intend to visit-Hello tourists!
  • Learn the language-Basic language exposure. Say something in Igbo, Ewondo…
  • Share your rich Cameroonian culture and language

Be present in appreciating the Cameroonian in you and Cameroonians around you. Understand Cameroonian marriage practices, clans and totems, pregnancy traditions, manners and protocols, dining and hosting, music, art and dance, death and funerals.

As a Cameroonian, you have a culture and you have a language!


Independence: 1 January 1960

Capital: Yaounde

Population:  26,545,864

Area: 475,442 square km

Provinces: Extreme North, North, South, East, West, South-west, North-west, Littoral, Center, Adamawa

Ethnic groups: 31% Cameroon Highlanders, 19% Equatorial Bantu, 11% Kirdi, 10% Fulani, 8% Northwestern Bantu,7% Igbo, 7% Eastern Nigritic, 7% other African, 1% non-African

Languages: Cameroonian Pidgin English, Fula, Ewondo, Chadian Arabic, Igbo, Camfranglais, French

Where is Cameroon on the continent of Africa?

Cameroon is a country in westcentral Africa. It is bordered by Nigeria to the west and north; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial GuineaGabon and the Republic of the Congo to the south.