People Of Democratic Republic of Congo

BeingAfrican is a platform that strives to preserve African cultures, traditions, and languages. It is a meeting place where African cultures are explained within scope. 

In recent decades, the emergence of large African diaspora communities within Africa itself, Europe, America, and elsewhere has resulted in the loss of traditional knowledge of African cultures. At the same time, the westernization of African countries has posed the same at home. Our platform is an attempt to preserve many of our centuries-old customs and traditions.

At BeingAfrican we understand that preservation of culture and protocols is everyone’s responsibility (parents and children) but mainly it lies with the elders. 

  • Learn about you, your people, and why you should be proudly Congolese.
  • Know who you married-cross cultural marriages
  • Understand the people of the country you intend to visit-Hello tourists!
  • Learn the language-Basic language exposure. Say something in Swahili, Lingala..
  • Share your rich Congolese culture and language

Be present in appreciating the Congolese in you and Congolese around you. Understand Congolese marriage practices, clans, and totems, pregnancy traditions, manners and protocols, dining and hosting, music, art and dance, death and funerals.

As a Congolese, you have a culture, and you have a language!   


Independence: 30 June 1960

Capital: Kinshasa

Population:  92,377,393

 Area: 2,345,409 km2

Provinces: Bandundu, Bas-Congo (Matadi), Équateur (Mbandaka), Kasai-Occidental (Kananga), Kasai-Oriental (Mbuji-Mayi), Katanga (Lubumbashi), Kinshasa, Maniema (Kindu), Orientale (Kisangani), North Kivu (Goma), South Kivu (Bukavu)

Languages: Kikongo, Lingala, Swahili, Tshiluba

Ethnic groups: Kongo, Alur, Mongo, Banyamulenge, Nyanga, Lendu

Where is Democratic Republic of Congo on the continent of Africa?

Democratic Republic of Congo is bounded to the north by the Central African Republic and South Sudan; to the east by Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Tanzania; to the southeast by Zambia; and to the southwest by Angola.