People Of Tanzania

BeingAfrican is a platform that strives to preserve African cultures, traditions, and languages. It is a meeting place where African cultures are explained within scope. 

In recent decades, the emergence of large African diaspora communities within Africa itself, Europe, America, and elsewhere has resulted in the loss of traditional knowledge of African cultures. At the same time, the westernization of African countries has posed the same at home. Our platform is an attempt to preserve many of our centuries-old customs and traditions.

At BeingAfrican we understand that preservation of culture and protocols is everyone’s responsibility (parents and children) but mainly it lies with the elders. 

  • Learn about you, your people, and why you should be proudly Tanzanian
  • Know who you married-cross cultural marriages
  • Understand the people of the country you intend to visit-Hello tourists!
  • Learn the language-Basic language exposure. Say something in Swahili, Makonde…
  • Share your rich Tanzanian culture and language

Be present in appreciating theTanzanian in you and Tanzanians around you. Understand Tanzanian marriage practices, clans and totems, pregnancy traditions, manners and protocols, dining and hosting, music, art and dance, death and funerals.

As a Tanzanian, you have a culture and you have a language!


Independence: 9 December 1961

Capital: Dar es Salaam

Population:  61,193,226

Area: 947,303 square km

Provinces: Arusha, Bagamoyo, Bukoba, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Iringa, Kilwa, Kondoa-Irangi, Lindi, Mahenge, Morogoro, Moshi, Mwanza, Pangani, Rufiji, Rungwe, Songea, Tabora, Tanga, Ufipa, Ujiji, and Usambara

Ethnic groups: Maasai, Nyakyusa, Chagga

Languages: Swahili, Sukuma, Bena, Chaga, Datooga, Digo, Gogo, Haya, Makonde, Sumbwa

Where is Tanzania on the continent of Africa?

Tanzania is in East Africa within the African Great Lakes region. It borders Uganda to the north; Kenya to the northeast; Comoro Islands and the Indian Ocean to the east; Mozambique and Malawi to the south; Zambia to the southwest; and RwandaBurundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west